top of page
Search

There is a Difference Between Feeling Lonely and Being Alone

There is a difference between feeling lonely and being alone. This is a concept that took me a long time to realize. I sometimes still struggle with this. When my depression was at its worst, I felt so alone. I felt like no one understood me and no one could help me. However, I now realize that I was not alone. I just felt lonely. When my depression sneaks back in from time to time, I find myself thinking that I am alone, but I have to remind myself that I just FEEL alone. It is important to see the difference. Being lonely may also mean that you are in a crowd of people but still feel lonely.


There have been plenty of times in my life when I am with my loved ones, but I still feel lonely. I often beat myself up over this because I think, "Why do I feel this way when I am surrounded by people who love me?" But you know what... it is okay to feel that way. I should not judge my emotions. It is perfectly okay to feel lonely even when you are not alone.

 

Journal Prompt:

  • Make a list of your support system. This can be family members, friends, coworkers, therapist, etc.

  • If I were to do this journal prompt (which I have more than once) I would write the list in my journal. If you do not have a journal you can write it in your notes on your phone or use a notecard.

  • A quick example of my list would be...

  1. My parents

  2. William

  3. My family (I would list each person that I believe are in my support circle)

  4. My friends (I would list each person that I believe are in my support circle)

  5. My therapist

This list is for you. If you feel that a family member or a friend is not in your support system, that is okay. It does not make them or you a lesser of a person. It simply just means they are not in your support circle. This can be for many reasons. They may not know about your struggles, live far away, or they are simply not helpful to you in this area of your life.

 
~This picture is not mine~
 

~ If you have not already, follow my Instagram @myrecovery_selflove I post on their daily/weekly

~ Please feel free to subscribe to this page! You will get an email every time I upload

~ Lastly, if you want to get in contact with me, please fill out the contact form on this page or DM me on my Instagram :)




31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page